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Date of Hearing:  April 4, 2017 

ASSEMBLY COMMITTEE ON AGING AND LONG-TERM CARE 

Ash Kalra, Chair 

AB 502 (Waldron) – As Amended March 16, 2017 

SUBJECT:  Crime victim compensation:  elder or dependent adult financial abuse. 

SUMMARY:  Creates a pilot program in San Diego County permitting the Victims of Crime 

Program (CalVCP) to reimburse victims of elder and dependent adult financial abuse for costs of 

financial and mental-health counseling, or supportive services as specified.  Specifically, this 

bill:   

1) Establishes the San Diego County Elder or Dependent Adult Financial Abuse Crime Victim 

Compensation Pilot Program within San Diego County; 

 

2) Authorizes the pilot project to provide direct victims of elder or dependent adult financial 

abuse pecuniary compensation for expenses associated with financial counseling, mental 

health counseling or supportive services; 

3) Makes compensation limited to $3,000 per client for the total costs of not more than 10 

financial counseling sessions, as defined, 10 mental health counseling sessions and 

supportive services such as emergency shelter, cognitive assessments, and transportation; 

4) Places a limit on the total compensation authorized by the pilot project for all persons at 

$1,000,000; 

 

5) Authorizes the pilot program to operate until January 1, 2021; 

6) On or before July 1, 2021, the California Victim Compensation Board shall report to the 

Legislature and the Governor; 

7) Concludes that a pilot is necessary to inform legislative members of the demand for, costs of, 

and outcomes of victim services leading to best practice protocols; 

8) Makes various findings and declarations regarding the steep increase in California’s 

population of those aged 65 and greater than that of any other state, reaching 4.2 million in 

2010;   

9) Makes various findings and declarations regarding elder or dependent adult financial abuse, 

that elderly and other dependent adults are seen as prey for financial scam artists who 

capitalize upon their loneliness, isolation, and vulnerability and that this victimization can 

decrease life spans, generate severe anxiety and hopelessness; and, 

10) Requires the California Victim Compensation and Government Claims Board to report on or 

before July 1, 2021, both electronically and in writing to the Legislature and the Governor, 

data related to the number of victims who received payments, the number of victims who 

received mental health counseling, the average payment for mental health counseling per 

recipient, the number of victims who received financial counseling and the average payment 

for financial counseling per recipient; and any other data that the Board wishes to provide. 
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EXISTING LAW:   

1) Protects seniors and dependent adults with the Elder Abuse and Dependent Adult Civil 

Protection Act (EADACPA), which provides civil protections and remedies for victims of 

elder and dependent adult abuse and neglect.   

2) Defines elder as any person who is 65 years of age or older and defines “dependent adult” as 

any person who is between the ages of 18 and 64, who has physical or mental limitations 

which restrict his or her ability to carry out normal activities or to protect his or her rights, 

including, but not limited to, persons who have physical or developmental disabilities or 

whose physical or mental disabilities have been diminished because of age, or any person 

between the ages of 18 and 64 who is admitted as an inpatient to a 24-hour health facility.   

3) Provides for referrals of abuse to Adult Protective Services agencies, Long-Term Care 

Ombudsman (LTCO) programs, and local law enforcement agencies from public or private 

agencies, mandated reporters, or any other source having reasonable cause to know that the 

welfare of an elder or dependent adult is endangered. 

 

4) Contains uniform state guidelines, which specify when county adult protective service 

agencies are to investigate allegations of abuse of elders and dependent adults and the 

appropriate role of local law enforcement is necessary in order to ensure that a minimum 

level of protection is provided to elders and dependent adults in each county. 

 

5) Authorizes law enforcement, the LTCO and/or Adult Protective Services (APS) to take any 

actions considered necessary to protect the elder or dependent adult and correct the situation 

and ensure the individual’s safety. 

 

6) Defines “financial abuse” of an elder or dependent adult occurs when a person or entity 

takes, secrets, appropriates, or retains real or personal property of an elder or dependent adult 

to a wrongful use or with intent to defraud.  

 

7) Authorizes the California Victims and Government Claims Board to assist victims of crime.   

 

8) Establishes the California Victim Compensation Program (CalVCP) which can help pay bills 

and expenses that result from certain violent crimes.   

FISCAL EFFECT:  The bill provides for an appropriation of one million dollars, but has not 

been analyzed by a fiscal committee yet. 

COMMENTS:   

Author’s Statement:  “Assembly Bill 502 would establish a pilot program for victims of elder 

and dependent adult financial abuse in San Diego County to be eligible for financial assistance 

through the California Victims’ Compensation program.  Elder and dependent adult financial 

abuse can lead to large costs to victims, families, and society.  In 2014-2015, San Diego 

County’s Adult Protective Services confirmed a total of 1,148 unique cases of elder and 

dependent adult financial abuse.  The San Diego District Attorney estimates approximately 600 

elderly and dependent adult victims are served annually, averaging about 50 clients per month.  

…also gives the state the opportunity to gather essential data for the use of mental health and 

financial counseling by elderly and dependent adult victims of financial abuse.” 
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Elder Abuse:  There has been a growing amount of research into the nature and extent of elder 

and dependent adult abuse.  One study suggests that approximately 6% of the 65+ population 

will report physical, financial, mental and other forms of abuse in any given year.  The 

Department of Social Services (DSS) oversees the Adult Protective Services (APS) program and 

reports approximately 9,500 cases per month of elder and dependent adult abuse are reported and 

investigated.  About 1,600 of the reports reflect financial abuse or exploitation.  In 2014-2015, 

San Diego County’s Adult Protective Services confirmed a total of 1,148 unique reports of elder 

and dependent adult financial abuse.  The San Diego District Attorney estimates approximately 

600 elderly and dependent adult victims are served annually, averaging about 50 clients per 

month.  It is estimated that elder victims of financial abuse suffer upwards of $2.9 billion annual 

financial loss.  Data from the National Center on Elder Abuse shows that women are about twice 

as likely as men to be abused, and that the older one is, the greater the risk is for suffering abuse.   

Victim Relief:  The Victims of Crime and Government Claims Board administers the State’s 

Government Claims Program, Victim Compensation Program, and Revenue Recovery Program.  

The California Victim Compensation Program (CalVCP) is designed to help pay bills and 

expenses that result from being a victim of certain crimes.  Currently, the program is not 

authorized by state law to address elder and dependent adult financial crimes.  Federal law 

already permits this funding purpose.   

Arguments in Support:  The California Commission on Aging, a co-sponsor in cooperation 

with the California Elder Justice Coalition, states that “studies show that elderly and dependent 

adult victims of financial abuse have a decreased lifespan, suffer emotional trauma, and often 

face impoverishment,” and note that other states have already moved ahead to extend assistance 

to elderly and dependent adult victims of financial abuse, including Colorado, Florida, Idaho, 

New York, Oklahoma, and Wyoming, among others.  The Commission notes that despite having 

the largest population of residents over 60, California has not yet made Cal-VCP compensation 

available to these victims. 

Arguments in Opposition:  None. 

Question:  Why is San Diego the only county authorized to participate in this pilot? 

Related Legislation:  

 

SB 60 (Wright), Chapter 147, Statutes of 2013 as introduced, would have made elder and 

dependent adult victims of financial crimes (P.C. 368 (d) and (e)) eligible for up to $10,000 in 

compensation from the Victim Compensation Fund for mental health counseling and financial 

counseling.  The elder abuse provision was amended out in Senate Appropriations and the bill 

went forward with provisions making victims of human trafficking eligible for benefits.   

 

AB 1140 (Bonta), Chapter 569, Statutes of 2015 implemented recommendations made by the 

“CalVCP Statute Modernization Project.”  The measure also made a number of other 

improvements to address emerging issues in law.  
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REGISTERED SUPPORT / OPPOSITION: 

Support 

California Commission on Aging (CCoA) – Co-Sponsor 

California Elder Justice Coalition – Co-Sponsor 

County Welfare Directors Association of California (CWDA) 

Multipurpose Senior Services Program Site Association 

Opposition 

None on file. 

Analysis Prepared by: Barry Brewer / AGING & L.T.C. / (916) 319-3990 


