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What does this mean?

“The probability of
someone 65 or older
needing Long-Term
Care at some time Is
709%.”




What does this mean?

Estimated Years Of Needing Long-Term
Care After Turning Age 65

None 31%
1 year or less 17%
1 to 2 years 12%
2 to 5 years 20%

More than 5 years 20%




What ever It means, It doesn’t
mean nursing homes
because...

e There are 4.3 million seniors
In California.

e In California there are
118,786 nursing home beds

.+ The SNF occupancy rate Is




What Is the real chance of
going Into a nursing home
and staying there for
more than five years?

ltisn’t 20.0%
itis ) 1.1%




OSHPD LTC Facility Utilization Trends

Discharges by Length of
Stay

Less than 2 weeks 34.1%
2 weeks to 1 months  24.2%
1 month to 3 months 8.5%
1 year to 2 years 3.6%

5 years or longer 1.1%



The Mix: How a SNF gets paid

Medicare 11.5%
Medi-Cal 65.4%
Managed Care 4.5%
Self Pay 11.5%

Private Insurance 2.7%
_All other 3.9%




The Myth of Medicare

You get 100 day of
nursing home days

 Three continuous nights requirement
 Observation vrs. Admission

The average # of Medicare

I days in a SNF = 18 Days .



With a 90 day

Exclusionary Period
In 2015,

83.5 percent of nursing home
residents were discharged after
a stay of three months or less.*

*California Association of Health Facilities

Here, the LTC policy pays ZERO.



What happens after 90 days?
Policies pay a per diem

Average Private Pay Rate

California 2017 $283 per day

Typical LTCi Policy pays - $150 per day

$133 per day




Medi-Cal — If you qualify
you don’t need LTCIi

Exempt Assets:
House
All personal property
IRASs, 401Ks, Pensions

Community Spouse Resource
Allowance $120,900



Medi-Cal Qualification
Income

The resident keeps $35 of income
— All the rest goes to share of cost

Minimum Monthly Maintenance Needs
Allowance

$3,023

- If there Is a Spouse or Registered
Domestic Partner



Welfare and Institutions Code
Section 14019.7

(a) Notwithstanding Section 14019.4 and if
permitted by federal law, a relative of a
skilled nursing facility resident who is a
beneficiary under this chapter may pay an
additional amount to the facility to enable
the resident to obtaining requested non-
covered services, such as a private room,
telephone, or television, or for bed hold days
that exceed a period paid for under the state
plan.



Medi-Cal Recovery

The New Medi-Cal
Recovery Laws

Effective January 1, 2017
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